My Skincare Routine

It’s not been that long since I last did a post on my skincare routine, however over the last few months I’ve been road testing a few new products after sticking to the same Simple routine for many years. I’ve been looking into going Paraben free with my skin care for a while, but you often find skin care that is Paraben free tends to come with a pretty hefty price tag which I really couldn’t ever afford. Recently however I’ve come across some really amazing and reasonably priced skin care that is really working for me, the majority of which is Paraben Free. I know that there’s nothing really to prove that parabens pose any significant threat to health but hey if I can erase one nasty from my routine then I’ll definitely try!
I’m very lucky to have never really suffered from ‘problem skin’ apart from the odd bout of dryness and the very occasional spot, but my skin call sometimes look quite dull. I’m so happy with how these products all just work really well together for my skin, and for the first time in ages this routine is actually leaving me with confidence to ditch the foundation and brave bare faced every now and again.

20140302-174451.jpg

Vichy Purete Thermale Eye Make Up Remover (Paraben Free) – £10.00
This is a new addition to my skin care routine as I thought it was time I ditched the ever so evil (in the blogging world) face wipes to remove my eye make up. I tend to use this before cleansing to remove the majority of my eye make up before cleansing. I really like this because it’s really gentle on my eyes, doesn’t sting, however I do find I need to use a lot of the product in order to remove my make up effectively. It’s also not the cheapest of products at £10 a pop (although I bought it on offer at half the price) and because the top of the bottle has no kind of filter I do often find myself having a drenched cotton pad because of excess product, which also means this 150ml bottle will probably also run out pretty quickly. I do really like this, as it’s really soothing on the eyes and not at all sticky, but I won’t repurchase it after it’s gone, but instead look for a cheaper alternative.

Superdrug Naturally Radiant Hot Cloth Cleanser (Paraben Free) – £5.99
I always hear people mentioning Superdrug’s Vitamin E Hot Cloth Cleanser around the blogosphere but rarely ever hear this talked about and I really can’t rave about it enough. It’s so brilliantly priced and leaves my skin feeling clean and silky smooth. It’s also Paraben-Free unlike its Vitamin E counter-part which for me is an added bonus. This product shares a lot of the same ingredients as the Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish but more is more than half the price and honestly works just as well at removing my make up effortlessly while using a muslin cloth. It isn’t irritating at all, and is gentle around the eye area too. It also doesn’t leave me with any redness which is also something I sometimes suffer from. This is currently better than half price in Superdrug too, so I highly recommend you grab it, you honestly won’t regret it!

Simple Kind to Skin Smoothing Facial Scrub – £3.29
I completely forgot to include this in the photo, but this once a week wonder is something that works great for getting rid of any dry patches I may have lurking on my face. It contains exfoliating rice particles that are really small so they don’t feel harsh at all on my face. It can sometimes leave me looking a little red after use, but usually only when I’ve been a little heavy handed with scrubbing. Overall it leaves my skin feeling beautifully soft and smooth.

L’oreal Skin Perfection Velvety Soft Toner (Paraben Free) – £3.99
This is another new addition to my routine, and probably one that has impressed me the most. It’s perfect for for soothing my skin faster cleansing, especially if I’m feeling a little tightness on my often sensitive skin. It has quite a thick consistency for a toner, and a little goes a long way. The smell is also quite refreshing, and not at all overpowering. I use this every morning and evening and I’m really enjoying the effects it’s having on my skin, which definitely looks more even and smooth.

L’oreal Skin Perfection Correcting Day Moisturiser – £14.99
I have now strayed away from my ‘go to’ daily moisturiser, which for years has been Simple’s kind to skin light moisturiser. As depressing as it is, I’m now in the dreaded 25+ age bracket when ‘anti-ageing’ products are now aimed at me! I have noticed my skin to be looking a little tired and uneven of late, so I thought I would invest in something new. So far, SO good!! I’ve been using the skin perfection moisturiser for a few weeks now and I’m absolutely loving it. It leaves my skin really soft and doesn’t irritate me at all despite having a very subtle fragrance. This products claims to minimise pores, which is something I’ve never had a real issue with, but skin is definitely feeling more supple and even, which means some days I haven’t even felt the need to use foundation. When I do wear foundation, this moisturiser works as a great base, creating a smooth canvas to work with, making application of my foundation just effortless. A little also goes a long way from this little 50ml jar too and despite the quite thick consistency of it, it doesn’t take long for the product to sink into the skin and isn’t at all greasy. The packaging is also really nice, with a beautiful glass jar, which looks lovely if you like to display your skincare.

Boots Simply Sensitive Night Moisturiser £3.79
For my night cream, I love to use Boots own brand answer to Simple skin care that’s just that tiny bit cheaper, and pretty much identical! This cream is really nourishing and in the morning my skin is smooth and hydrated. Again a little goes a long way with this so it’s has lasted my for ages, (I kid you not I’ve probably had this tub for about 5 months) but I am finally coming to the end of it. The best part about it, it doesn’t cost the earth and it works, what more could you want!

Superdrug Naturally Radiant Brightening Eye Cream £5.99
This is the only product in my current routine that I don’t really feel like does anything to help my skin, but I’m persevering with it for the purpose of trying to use up products I’ve had for a long time, It does help a little to moisturise my delicate under eye area but it’s nothing groundbreaking to be perfectly honest. The little tube does however seem to be never ending as I’ve had this for months and I still don’t think I’m anywhere near the end of it.

So I think I’ve finally cracked my skin care routine, and all the products mean I don’t have to break the bank in order to keep my skin looking great, with it all coming to a grand total of £48.04, which isn’t too shabby.

What’s in your current skin care routine, and are their any budget skin care gems you would recommend?

Thanks for reading! x

Leave a Reply

