Aloe-inspired Forever Living Beauty Products – Review

If you didn’t already know aloe vera is kind of a wonder plant in terms of it’s many uses and benefits, including an aid for digestion and helping with eczema and psoriasis. I learnt a lot about it on holiday in Lanzarote last year, when I visited an aloe plantation as part of an island excursion and saw demonstrations of how the gel is extracted from the plant, and even felt for my self the cooling effect fresh aloe gel had on my rather sun exposed skin at the time. It was here I also picked up a aloe body milk that was an absolute godsend for my skin throughout the rest of my holiday. I found myself a little disappointed when I came home that I didn’t pick up more of the products that were on offer at Lanzaloe as I thought I’d never come across anything as good for my skin when back home.

Recently, my work friend Vicky started her own little business venture with Forever Living, admittedly a company I had never heard of before, but one that distributes aloe-inspired products, from pure aloe vera gel drinks, weight management supplements, to pampering beauty treats. Vicky very kindly offered me the chance to trial out some of the products for a week to see what I thought, and I jumped at the chance to try out more aloe based beauty products knowing that it has done wonders to my skin in the past.

So here’s what I got in my little basket of wonder…
Aloe Vera Gelly (118ml) £12.24
Aloe-Jojoba Shampoo (296ml) £14.15
Aloe-Jojoba Conditioner (296ml) £14.15
Aloe Hand and Face Soap (473ml) £10.84
Forever Bright Toothgel (130g) £5.75
Aloe Lips Balm £2.87
Aloe Moisturising Lotion (118ml) £12.24
Aloe Propolis Creme (Sample) Full Size – £14.96
Aloe Heat Lotion (Sample) Full Size – £12.24

20140313-215512.jpg
Over the last week I’ve been trying a lot of these products out, so here are my thoughts…
Aloe-Jojoba Shampoo
My first impressions of this was that I wasn’t too keen on the smell, because aloe can be quite an aquired scent. It’s very very fresh and clean smelling, and a little herbal. It reminded me of a shampoo I always remember my dad using when I was a little kid, but I can’t for the life of me remember what it was called. It lathers up really well in the hair, and not leaving it feeling too knotty when rinsed out, as I could run my hands through it with not too much effort before applying the conditioner.

20140313-222030.jpg

Aloe-Jojoba Conditioner
This has a creamier, less intense fragrance than the shampoo which I really loved. It had a nice creamy consistency which was easy to work through my hair without being too slippery. I avoided using this near my roots, due to my quite fine hair, so spread it evenly from my mid-length to the ends and left it to work its magic for 2 minutes before rinsing.
Rinsing was really easy, and I could immediately feel how soft and silky it had made my hair.

20140313-222126.jpg
Using the two products together really did good things to my hair. When dry my hair was less frizzy and really shiny. I was a little worried the conditioner might weigh down my fine hair but I was left with a nice bit of bounce. Styling was also made effortless as my straighteners just glided through my hair. The combination also kept my hair looking clean for a good three days. Overall I was really impressed with these.

Aloe Moisturising Lotion
This has got to be the product that has impressed me the most. It is amazing!! The cream has quite a thick consistency, which at first reminded me a little of sun cream, and I thought it would take a lot of effort to rub into my skin. How wrong I was, it absorbed super quickly without leaving me feeling sticky or standing around in my undies waiting for my body to dry before I could get dressed.
The lotion is also very rich, so I found it great for any problem areas of dryness, which I especially suffer from on the side of my body just under my arms. I think this would work wonders for any eczema sufferers in particular.
The morning after I’d used this my skin was still silky smooth and soft, I was also impressed with how supple the skin on my thighs in particular felt, thanks to collagen and elastin thrown into the mix of ingredients. My dry patches also haven’t made an appearance since using this, which is always a bonus!
Forever also suggest that this lotion can work well as a make-up base, which for me personally I think I would find too rich for my face, however if you are a sufferer of troublesome dry patches on your face, you may find this beneficial.

20140313-224113.jpg

Forever Bright Toothgel
Admittedly this was the one I was most apprehensive about trying, having something other than fluoride, and the idea of aloe vera in a Toothgel was something completely alien to me. Thankfully, the gel has a fresh mint flavour rather than aloe, so not so strange after all! I always like using gel formula toothpastes as apposed to actual pastes, as they are often too drying so I was more than happy to give this a try.
What you squeeze onto your toothbrush is a thick dark green gel, which might seem a little scary at first but once you start brushing is just like any other tooth gel. The taste was pleasant but the mint wasn’t quite strong enough for my personal preference, but if you like milder tastes this would be ideal.
It did leave my teeth feeling lovely and clean, but I found the formula a little too drying for my mouth.

20140313-231902.jpg

Aloe Lips Balm
This is another product that really impressed me. It has a lovely smell, which is quite sweet in comparison to the other products which were all more clean, and herbal smelling. I love that it comes in a handy little stick that I can just pop in my handbag too. It gives very smooth and easy application and isn’t at all greasy or sticky on the lips. I have been applying this after using my Lush Lip Scrub in the evenings, and before bed to leave it moisturise my dry and chapped lips overnight. The results in the morning have been amazing. My lips feel nourished and soft, the affect it has actually reminds me a lot of Carmex but without the tingly sensation. Absolutely love this!!

If you like the sound of any of the products I’ve mentioned, you can find out more about them and Forever as a company on their website here

My friend Vicky has also recently started her own blog to run in conjunction with her new venture which you can check out here leave her a little comment and let her know I sent you if you like!

And if you have any other Enquires or would like to place an order just contact Vicky direct by email vmayne.foreverliving@outlook.com 🙂

Thanks for reading!! x

2 thoughts on “Aloe-inspired Forever Living Beauty Products – Review

Leave a Reply

