Boots & E.L.F Haul

So it would appear over the last two months or so, I’ve been pretty determined to accumulate points on my Boots Advantage card, and chosen to spend a large proportion of my wages on beauty products, that I don’t really need, but crave all the same. Let’s just say, working in a city centre where you spend a lot of time having to wait around for trains or kill time waiting to start work is both a blessing and a curse, depending on whether you are my face,body, hair etc… or my bank balance.

Working in Cardiff, also gives me easy access to all things E.L.F, as we are lucky enough to have the only E.L.F store in Britain, which obviously I have to take full advantage of sometimes. So let’s get down to business and let me show you all the wonderous goodies I’ve picked up recently…

elf haul

E.L.F Concealer Brush £3.95 – I’ve been looking for a brush to use for my concealer for a while, but haven’t wanted to splurge on real techniques brushes, so when I saw this in E.L.F I thought it was worth a go. I’ve always heard good things about there quaility so was excited to try it out. The bristles are lovely and soft, so won’t be too harsh to use around my eye area. For £3.95 you really can’t go wrong.

E.L.F Stipple Brush £3.95 – I already have the small version of this, which I originally started off using to apply foundation, but more recently have been using for blush. I thought I would give the larger one a go for my foundation and see what results I have with it. Again the bristles are lovely and soft, but do seem a little more flimsy than the bristles in its smaller counterpart, still excited to try this out though.

E.L.F Eyeshadow Brush £1.95 – Again I’ve been looking for a flat eyeshadow brush for the purpose of applying my eyeshadow all over the lid, as the trusty Ruby and Millie brush I’ve had for years, is finally on its last legs. I was chuft to find this in the E.L.F store as it was exactly what I’ve been looking for.

E.L.F Nourishing Cuticle Pen £1.95 – My nails have been in a really bad state recently, I’ve been avoiding painting them on a regular basis in order to get them back into a more healthy condition. My cuticles always take a bit of a battering, so I thought I’d give this a try and hope it helps to maintain them a little better. It contains vitamins and aloe extract so I’m hoping for good things and hoping it won’t be too oily.

E.L.F Nail Polish Fairy Dust £2.50 – This glitter polish immediately caught my eye, and I just knew I had to buy it even though I already have far too many nail polishes than I know what to do with. This clear based polish with rainbow glitter specks which sparkle orange, green and purple in different lights, will make a great top coat over pastel shades during spring and summer.

E.L.F Nail Polish Metal Madness £2.50 – I saw this as a tester on the table of nail polish and I loved it instantly, then walked around the table inspecting all the different tubs filled with different polishes about 4 times before I finally managed to find one for myself. Being blind I failed to spot it right in front of me in the first place. This gun metal grey with multi coloured glitter running through it is like nothing I have in my collection. Maybe a little dark for this spring season upon us, but will look amazing on a night out.

E.L.F Baked Eyeshadow Burnt Plum £3.95 – Eyeshadow was definitely one thing I never need to buy but can never help myself and this was a must buy as soon as a swatched it. I love brown’s and this gorgeous shadow has a hint of purple in it too just to mix things up a little. I’d probably use this in the crease for a day time look, and maybe brave it all over the lid for a night out. The texture of the shadow isn’t chalky at all, which hopefully will make for smooth application. Having never tried E.L.F shadows before I’m hoping it has good staying power.

burnt plum elf baked eyeshadow

boots haul1

Sanctuary Spa Radiance Exfoliator £7.00 – My mum had this in a gift set for Christmas, and I had a sneaky try of it one morning and instantly fell in love with it. I had a voucher to get 500 advantage points when you spent over £10 on Sanctuary skincare so definitely had to pick up some of my own. It smells amazing and for an exfoliator isn’t at all harsh on the skin. It leaves my face feeling unbeliveably smooth and I would highly recommend it to anyone! It’s also paraben free which is an added bonus for me, as now everything in my skincare routine is paraben free! Hurrah! This is usually £10.50 but is currently on offer for £7 so grab it while you can!!

Sanctuary Spa Brightening Eye Gel £7.00 – I’ve been looking for the perfect eye cream for a while as my under eye circles have been really bothering me lately. I’ve been toying with idea of investing in the origins ginzing eye cream for a while, but have come to the conclusion that I just can’t justify spending 20-something pounds on a tiny jar of cream, so instead I thought I’d give this Sanctuary one a go. It claims to calm puffiness and dark circles but I’m not expecting miracles, just something to soothe my ever tired eyes will suit me fine.

Soft & Gentle Deodorant Orange Blosson & Grapefruit £1.00 – I needed deodorant and this was on offer, simply as that really. Also, the fragrance appealed to me. I’ll never understand why every deodorant on earth claims to have 48 hour protection though, when everyone knows that’s just not the case for any of them.

Garnier 2 in 1 Eye Make-Up Remover £2.33 – As I’m currently on a quest to step away from ye old face wipes for taking off my make up, I’m constantly looking for new things to try. I have a few make up removers in my stash at the moment so I decided to add this to the collection while it was on offer (I also liked the bottle and the fact it was purple but shhhh). It was the last one left on the shelf, so I have expectations that could mean it’s good, but who knows. I’m hoping to do a comparison post soon based on all the ones I’ve been trying, so keep your eyes peeled for that.

Nivea Hawaiian Bliss & Oil Shower Gel £1.29 – My downfall when it comes to a trip to Boots is shower gel, especially when they are on offer. I get bored easily with scents so I like to have a few to chose from in the house. I absolutely did not need to buy this but it smelt so lovely and refreshing and was half price so I couldn’t not take it home. I was also really intriged by the concept of the oil pearls to leave me feeling a little bit pampered while in the shower.

mua shimmer highlight

MUA Undress Your Skin Shimmer Highlighter £3.00 – The packaging of this immediately screamed out Mac Mineralised Skin Finish, which is probably the look they were going for, as the indentations in the product look almost identical. Look how pretty! I don’t have any highlighters in my collection so I’m excited to try this out. It does look incredibly shimmery so I think I will have to definitely use it sparingly but I think it will look so pretty on the cheekbones, and I like the fact it isn’t too orangey toned so should look flattering on my pale skin.

topshop let her go

Topshop Powder Blush Let Her Go £7.00 – I first saw this shown by Maddie in one of her YouTube videos a few weeks back, and immediately loved it. Admittedly this look terrifying in the pan, but when I swatched it on my hand it came out the most gorgeous bright peachy-pink. The powder is so soft and very easy to blend. A dab of this on my cheeks with my E.L.F stipple blush will look so refreshing on a sunny spring day. I’ve had the Topshop Cream Blushes in the past I was really impressed with them, and just love Topshop’s make up as a whole, so I have really great expectations for this.

loreal elnett

L’oreal Elnett Satin Heat Protect Styling Spray (Straight) £5.99 – I’ve wanted to try this out for ages, and as I can never find my absolute favourite heat protecting spray (L’oreal EverSleek) I thought I’d give this a go. It’s slightly cheaper than my favourite so that is a slight consolation I suppose. So far, so good although I don’t really find it keeps my hair straight for three days without needing a little bit of a top up. Smells nice too.

L’oreal Elnett Satin Lumiere Supreme Hold Hair Spray £6.49 – All Elnett products were on offer for 2 for £9 so I thought I’d give one of the hairspray’s a go. I’ve been finding my hair very fly away recently, and with the air being quite mild and humid my naturally curly hair also has a habit of enjoying going wavy in the humidity after just being straightened (and not in a sexy beach way, trust me!) I’m not usually a hairspray fan, as I hate the thought of my hair feeling in any way crispy, but the lightweight formula of the Elnett range appealed to me. This one also has light reflectors in it to leave my hair looking super shiny too!

So there we have it, my rather mahoosive haul. Just as a disclaimer I didn’t buy it all in one go, it was a result of several trips where several things fell into my basket. My bad! I’d love to hear what you’ve been buying recently, and any thing you would recommend me to look out for the next time I’m killing some time in town,  leave me a comment below!

Thanks for reading! x

 

5 thoughts on “Boots & E.L.F Haul

    • E.L.F have always been a brand I’ve read a lot about and been interested to try but never bit the bullet and done it. On this occasion I just went for it haha! Do you have any recommendations of theirs that I should give a try? x

Leave a Reply

