FOTD – Plum Smokey Eye

So I’ve been a little MIA on the old blog front recently…well actually for a pretty long time. I’ve been struggling just to find the time to just sit down and think about what I wanted to blog about, let alone actually sit and type anything up. Finally, after months of what has felt like constant work, I finally have a week off to myself, to relax, and think about anything but working. I’m really hoping to get back into blogging again properly and I have loads of ideas, and loads of products I’ve been wanting to review for a while. 

To ease myself back in I thought I’d start off again with a simple make-up look.
Throughout the summer, I’ve strayed away from using foundation, as for once we’ve actually had a nice summer in Wales. Even now that the weather is turning cooler I’ve realised that I didn’t really miss using it, so have tended to stick to much lighter coverage products. I’ve really been enjoying using the Jemma Kidd Mineral Skin Nourishing Tint SPF 20, which is really light and easy to blend and even my skin tone, but without hiding my freckles too much (I’ve always tried my best to cover them up, but I’m kind of learning to embrace them now, seeing as they aren’t ever going away.) It also leaves a nice dewy finish without leaving my skin sparkly or shiny. What’s even better is I stocked up on plenty of tubes of it when I managed to find it in the Original Factory Shop for £3 a tube! Not bad when it retails for £28, and sadly I think now discontinued.

FOTD 1

I very rarely stray away from neutral eye make up, but I do enjoy mixing it up now and again with darker colours to help bring out the blue in my eyes. I recently rediscovered my E.L.F baked eyeshadow in Burnt Plum, and have been really impressed with its pigmentation and lasting power.Its different from the usual gold and brown that I usually go for in eyeshadow, but it’s still not too in your face or offensive. I blended it all over the lid using the E.L.F professional eyeshadow brush, and to add a little demension, blended ‘Busted’ from the Naked 2 palette into the crease using the Real Techniques shading brush.

For eyeliner, I always use brown, as black is a little too harsh against my pale complexion, I’ve recently discovered that my go-to, Rimmel’s Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl in Bronze, has been discontinued which is so frustrating as it’s the only drugstore eyeliner I’ve ever found to not make my eyes water, or give me panda eyes. If anyone knows of anything similar I could try then please let me know! For now I’ll be on the hunt on eBay for any sellers that might still have it. 

For mascara, I tried out a sample of Chanel’s Le Volume de Chanel that I found in the bottom of my make up bag, which I realised I’ve never actually tried. It does give a lot of volume but did take a couple of coats, and did make my lashes a little more spidery than I would usually like. Don’t think I’ll be rushing out to splurge on the £25 for a full size any time soon, but it’s nice to use a little luxury now and again I suppose.

FOTD2

For my cheeks, I’m loving using the MUA Undress your skin shimmer highlighter. It’s very shimmery but used in moderation gives a really lovely finish and really easy to blend and not chalky at all. For blush, I’ve rediscovered my love for the Topshop Cream Blush in Nutmug. Again, I think this is also discontinued, as I’ve had it for years, but it gives a lovely rosy finish and is an absolute dream to blend.

MAKE UP 2

Products used:

Benefit That Gal Brightening Primer
Jemma Kidd Mineral Skin Nourishing Tint SPF 20 – Porcelain
Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer – 2 Cool Medium
Topshop Cream Blush – Nutmeg
MUA Undress Your Skin Shimmer Highlighter
Rimmel Professional Eyebrow Pencil – Hazel
E.L.F Baked Eyeshadow – Burnt Plum (Lid)
Naked 2 – Busted (Crease)
Le Volume de Chanel Mascara – Black

FOTD3

Hope you’re having a wonderful Thursday!

Thanks for reading! x

 

 

2 thoughts on “FOTD – Plum Smokey Eye

    • I’d highly recommend the elf baked eyeshadows, for the price they are amazing and so pigmented! I always say subtle purples and burgundy tones are the best way to go for a subtle autumn look 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

