Summer Empties

Happy Saturday everyone! There is no better feeling than not having to work on a weekend, and for me personally it doesn’t occur very often so I’m embracing every moment. One of the bonus’s of being away from blogging for a while, is that in the time I’ve been away I’ve managed to get through tons of beauty products, and keeping all my empties to fill you in on my thoughts. It’s been a while so I’ll stop babbling and get straight into them.Empties All

L’oreal Skin Perfection Velvety Soft Toner
My absolute go-to toner which I adore. I’ve managed to get through two bottles of this stuff, and I’m currently on my third. This is beautiful on the skin after cleansing, soothes any redness I may have, and doesn’t sting my face at all. This leaves my skin gorgeously soft and smooth, and doesn’t leave me standing around for ages waiting for my face to dry after using it. I think I will forever repurchase this and it’s not a bank breaker either, which is always an extra bonus.

Primark – Early Days Baby Wipes
I’ve been really good lately at sticking to a good skin care routine which doesn’t involve being lazy and using the dreaded face wipe. But every now and again we all have days when we really are too tired at the end of the day to go through all the fuss. I always buy baby wipes as opposed to ‘facial wipes’ because they are essentially exactly the same thing, but you get more for your money. These from Primark are incredibly gentle and being alcohol free are really kind around the eye area. Enriched with aloe vera and chamomile they also leave my skin super soft, just like the baby’s bum they are intended for! As an added bonus they are also fragrance and paraben free so are perfect for sensitive skin. On top of all that, you get two pack for £1 so you really can’t go wrong!

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water
There’s been a lot of hype around this product, so I was intrigued to see what all the fuss was about. Having never tried a micellar water before I was a tad sceptical about how effective removing copious amounts of eye make with essentially, water, really would be. At first I was sold and quite impressed, it was gentle and did an O.K job of removing the majority of make up before cleansing and didn’t irritate my eyes at all. Then, the more I used it, the less I liked it. One thing especially was the smell. Now it claims to have ‘no perfume’ which I agree with…the scent I got from it was more, stale water… Maybe it was just me and I got a dodgy bottle, but it really put me off.

I think for the size of the bottle, it is good value for money; especially when it’s on offer, but I’ve since found something more effective so I probably wouldn’t repurchase it. I also found you had to use an awful lot of it on a cotton pad in order to really get rid of all of your eye make up.

Body Shop Chocomania

The Body Shop Chocomania Shower Cream
I was so sad to see the last of this lather up on to my shower lily. I’m not usually a fan of chocolate scented things, but this really is something else. It’s not a fake scent at all and not too sickly, just beautiful. The formula is lovely and creamy and left my skin feeling really soft, and for a highly perfumed product it didn’t dry out or irritate my skin at all. I will definitely repurchase this when I’ve made my way through the mountains of shower gel I have to use up.

Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Aftersun & Lanzaloe Body Milk de Aloe Vera
These two together were an absolute godsend to me over the summer months. I went to Lanzarote at the end of April this year and suffered a very severe burn to one of my legs on the last day…think blisters, the works! The body milk was perfect for treating the burn in the first few days to moisturise it without making it sticky. My burn was also really sore to touch, so the body milk formula was perfect as it didn’t take a lot of work to rub into the skin.

The Hawaiian Tropic product is a mixture of lotion and gel and was great for preventing peeling and perfect as am all over body moisturiser for the rest of my ‘sun-kissed’ skin. It also smells delicious and left me with that holiday feeling weeks after I’d come back to rainy Wales. Definitely will be repurchasing both of these products for any future holidays.

Dove Dry Shampoo

Dove Hair Therapy Dry Shampoo
I definitely have mixed views on this stuff. On the plus side it does have a lovely fresh scent which isn’t too overpowering like some other dry shampoos I’ve used. It also doesn’t leave the annoying white residue in your hair when you do spray it into your roots. My biggest problem with it was that it did actually leave my hair looking more greasy than before and left it with a really horrible texture. Safe to say I was pretty disappointed with it and even more annoying is, it’s not particularly cheap for a drug store brand.

Jergens Skin Firming Daily Toning Body Moisturiser
Cellulite has never really been a big deal to me, it’s something that for most women is inevitable, but when I recently started to notice it more on the tops of my thighs I thought I’d try a firming cream to help me out. Now I’m not saying I suffer from terrible cellulite, in fact most people probably wouldn’t even notice it but when I know it’s there myself I wanted to do something about it. Obviously, more exercise would probably help but I did recognise a noticeable difference in the firmness and elasticity of my legs after using this moisturiser. It doesn’t have a thick consistency so sinks really quickly into the skin so you’re not left standing around in the nude for ages waiting for it to dry and it also has a really pleasant smell. Ever since I’ve finished this I haven’t been able to find it anywhere other than amazon, so I do have a feeling that it is now discontinued. Overall a really lovely moisturiser to use and I was really pleased with the results.

Cuticura Anti-Bacterial Hand Gel – Cucumber and Garden Mint
Basically just your general bog-standard hand sanitizer. Great size for just chucking in your hand bag for every day general germ avoidance. The scent is really refreshing and doesn’t leave a weird taste in your mouth if you use it on your hands just before eating a sandwich or something. (Is there anything worse!) It also doesn’t dry out your hands too much, which for someone with horribly dry hands is always a bonus.

Tony & Guy Heat Protection Mist
I like to pick up travel size products every now and again just to try things out before I decide whether they are worth to pay out full price for them. This heat protection spray did its job nicely, protecting my hair from the constant strains of the hair straighteners and leaving my hair nice and shiny and easier to manage and style. When using it on dry hair, it didn’t leave my hair feeling damp, or like my hair would be singed if I used my straighteners right after spraying a section of hair. It has a very salon like scent which makes it seem quite luxurious. I liked it and I’d probably repurchase it again in the future.

Phew! So there we have it, all my recent empties! Have you tried any of these products, what did you think? I’d love to hear your views!

Enjoy the rest of your Saturday! Thanks for reading! x

Leave a Reply

